Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Wildlife Gardeners of North America Unite > Habitat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 06:31 PM   #1
Great Horned Owl

Default Salix discolor - Pussy Willow

I planted my first Pussy Willow tree today. I'm hoping Viceroys and Mourning Cloaks use it as a host plant. My yard had been without a willow till today.

Any tips on maintaining it for wildlife? I see cutting it severely back each year is recommended, but do these folks have an eye on its wildlife value or its beauty??

I planted it in a naturally formed depression that sometimes fills temporarily with water after a heavy rain. I purchased a porous mulch ring for it too, as it is growing in what is presently lawn area.

Is it a good attractor of butterflies?????????

Oracle at Delphi
jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:45 PM   #2
Pope

I have no real experience with willows but have been interested in them for years and have read up when possible. From what I have read, most willows are actually stimulated to grow when cut back severely. People practicing the craft of basketry have used willow as a sustainable crop for thousands of years, harvesting each spring through coppicing. Here is the website for a nursery in Canada that specializes in all sorts of Salix varieties: Salix (Willow) Varieties - Retail & Wholesale Nursery - NA They have some very cool information and links for using willows for living fences and other structures.
Hedgerowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 07:01 PM   #3
WG Hospitality & UAOKA recipient