Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Wildlife Gardeners of North America Unite > Butterflies & Moths

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2011, 09:49 PM   #1
Butterfly Educator Extraordinaire

Default Monarchs in Michoacan, Mexico

I have these videos from my trip to Mexico in 2009. I don't know why I've never shared them on here before. Probably because they aren't all that great since I am a horrible videographer!

Anyways, I posted one on You Tube and have several others that I will add soon. This video barely shows the multitudes of monarchs we saw on our visits to the colonies in El Rosario and Sierra Chincua.

I hope to some day get back and see them again. I fell in love with Mexico and its people. My heart aches for what they are going through with the drug wars and unrest.

Enjoy!
Monarchs in Sierra Chincua, Michoacan, 2009 - YouTube

http://mslenahan.edublogs.org/
bridget1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:09 PM   #2
Lungwort

Thank you for sharing, Bridget; I enjoyed your videos. I too, would like to make it to Mexico to see the wintering Monarchs; it's probably one the top rankings of my bucket list. Till then, I'll keep a few flowers blooming and a quiet, peaceful back yard with lots of yummy milkweed around... just in case a female wants to drop in and spend a little time here.
Asclepias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 08:58 AM   #3
Official Plant Nerd

Ohmagod.... there's so many of them flying around it's like skeeters filling the skies where I live and the trees look like they're dripping with monarchs!!! I watched it again and turned it up and heard you sigh. Gave me goosebumps.... wish I'd been there with ya!!!
Old 09-23-2011, 07:48 PM   #4

butterfly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asclepias View Post