Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Wildlife Gardeners of North America Unite > Butterflies & Moths

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2010, 12:08 PM   #1
Grub

Default Two butterfly seminars and an event in one day -

Hello all -

Here's the setup; on the weekends and some evenings I work at a high-end nursery/greenhouse. One of the employees asked our GM if they could host a fundraiser at our Atrium for a child with CF; and when told it was a Butterfly Ball the GM got me involved. The mom of the child emailed and said she understood I was a butterfly expert and I quickly corrected her. I know more than the average person, but I am far from an expert. She mentioned that she hoped I could bring insects but . . .

I am the resident wildlife gardener. The bug 'n bird guy. So I was more than happy to sign up for this (he's a beautiful little boy who isn't even two yet). I am going to take a corner of the atrium and turn it into an all-Ohio native butterfly garden. I will have an enclosed gazebo where I am going to try and release painted ladies that I am going to try to raise.

Then, to top it off, management decided that since I am going to be doing all of this anyway . . . why not run two seminars in both of our stores on the same day!

So . . . I have to put together a butterfly garden using typical nursery stock . . . and I plan on driving home that you need hosts as well as nectar. I have to get my plant order turned in (and I am limited to working with two pre-determined vendors). I have to raise caterpillars. I have to write two seminars and prepare educational materials . . .

I do have some experience with this, but it has been some time ago. I ran an animal studies lab at a local university several years ago. That involved presentations.