Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Wildlife Gardeners of North America Unite > Birds Including Raptors & Hummers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2012, 12:11 PM   #1
Salamander

Tree2 Very Upset

Our property has few trees considering its size, so we always enjoyed walking down the road where there is a line of trees. We suspect there used to be a homestead there as one shed still stood. Then beyond that is an unmowed pasture used for grazing, then the tree lined creek.

Well, as I speak that first tree line is going down. This is more than a little upsetting because there were patches of trees here and there, but one by one they are going down to work that one or two additional acres because the price of farmland is going up, up. I am not good with history, but weren't a lot of these trees put up to hinder erosion? Last year a house with all the extra buildings and trees were torn down and burned. My husband figured all that work gave them 3 acres to work with.

It's their property, so they can do what they want I suppose , but I wonder how many nests are being destroyed, based on all the bird activity we see here. I am feeling more than a little heart sick right now. I like our meadow birds, but wish we had more trees so those evicted had a place to go.
Birding Bunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:53 PM   #2
A Bee's Best Friend

Sorry to hear that. I hate to see established stands of woodland or meadow turned to agricultural trying to wring a few extra dollars from the soil. The added erosion and chemical imput is bad enough but small wooded areas like that are known to be habited by many bees and other pollinators that farmers with wind pollinated crops will not concern themselves.
There is much you can accomplish but sometimes, some places are out of your hands.

http://pollinators-welcome.blogspot.com/
Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote