Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Edibles Gardeners Unite > Vegetables other than tomatoes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 09:09 AM   #1
Unicellular Fungi

Default Cucumber problem/question

I've grown cucumbers for many years. This is my first year up here in MN growing. I've picked a few cucumbers that have a strange mid green color and texture that is different than regular cucumber flesh. Just seems gummy, when I search online I get stuff about gummy stems, but it doesn't say the fruit itself is odd. It seems to partially affect the fruit. I don't know if it because it is getting too much sun or the fruit is injured. Any info is appreciated.
maxanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:35 PM   #2
WG Prize & Gift Coordinator

Were they resting on the ground? Perhaps too moist? Rotting?

A walk among the elusive Whitetail Deer
havalotta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:50 PM   #3
Unicellular Fungi

Quote:
Originally Posted by havalotta View Post
Were they resting on the ground? Perhaps too moist? Rotting?
One was sitting on the ground, but some were completely suspended, there were no signs of rot. The skin was perfect, the only way to see if it has this problem was to cut them up. It was like the fruit didn't develop properly. Just can't find any info on this problem. If it happens again I'll take pictures. Luckily this only happened to 2-3 cucumbers out of 15 so far.
Old 07-18-2013, 01:01 PM   #4

Could it be powdery mildew? I recall that setting cukes to rot.

Old 07-18-2013, 01:47 PM   #5
Unicellular Fungi

Quote:
Originally Posted by havalotta View Post
Could it be powdery mildew? I recall that setting cukes to rot.
Hmmm.... I don't remember seeing any on my cucumbers, but I did have some on my zucchini plant for a short time... I'm going to have to inspect them closer.
Old 07-22-2013, 08:27 AM   #6