Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Edibles Gardeners Unite > Vegetables other than tomatoes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2013, 09:49 AM   #1
Official Plant Nerd

Default Anyone try growing anything new this year....

I mean something you've never tried before. I'm trying globe artichoke. I have never tried growing artichokes before so all advice would be appreciated. I forgot what variety I bought. I did save the seed pack so I can look it up if anyone's interested. I've got the artichoke seedlings in a bed by themselves because I looked at some photos online and was like in shock at the size these plants can attain in 1 season. They're HUGE towering plants.
Old 06-08-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
Heron

Sunchokes for Me - that is new! They are coming up pretty good, and I have them all mulch with a thick layer of hay.
Pretty excited about them.

Oh and those purple potatoes.
The purple potato tops looks just like the red Pontiacs so far. All big and lush and green.

The Yukon yellows potatoes looks smaller, not as vigorous and a paler yellow. I have not noticed that before
Hmmm unless I messed up and forgot which row is which. Maybe the paler yellow potato tops are the purple potatoes.
liquidambar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 12:26 PM   #3
WG Hospitality & UAOKA recipient

We are trying watermelon and cantaloupe--something I haven't tried in a while (if ever) and never with success.

I planted a variety of corn that is red in color...and one that looks like Indian corn, but is supposed to be sweet and edible--some of the seed is from a year or two ago...and I'm not sure which one doesn't seem to be coming up.

I'm also growing the purple and the red potatoes (red blush inside) that I mentioned before--I was supposed to plant sweet potatoes, but never got around to it--never really looked for a source, I guess.