Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > General Gardening Boards > North American Native Plants

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2017, 11:16 AM   #1
Lungwort

Default Slow growing persimmon

I was wondering if anyone had experience out there with growing persimmon from seed? I've been doing this for a couple of years now, and I always get them to germinate easily after some cold stratification. My issue is that they don't seem to grow at all from there. I have four year old seedlings that are barely 2 inches tall. I wonder if it is just the heavy clay soil I have them in or if they are just extremely slow growing?
Helianthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 12:28 PM   #2
Salamander

They are SLOW. I got one a few years ago from a buddy who has a tree farm. Complained to him how slow it was and he showed me one of his that has been in the ground for years. Was still less than 5' tall.

On the really bad side, I believe I had had my persimmon for 4 years now. Leafed out this year but the leaves never unfurled and then eventually fell off. Something went wrong.

I'm interested in having a persimmon because hickory horn devil caterpillars grow biggest on persimmon.

The caterpillar does all the work but the butterfly gets all the publicity.

George Carlin
KC Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 07:53 AM   #3
Lungwort

Ok, that is reassuring. I have planted out 7-8 in various spots in my yard. I guess 50 years from now it will be a 'possum, 'coon, and horn devil paradise. That is until some clueless newcomer replaces them all with crepe myrtles.
Old 06-14-2017, 08:02 AM   #4
Lungwort