Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Miscellaneous Gardening Boards > Greenhouses and Coldframes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2009, 02:26 AM   #1
Official Plant Nerd
 
Equilibrium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Circuit board to greenhouse furnace trashed

I got dealt the final blow to some plants. Mice chewed through all the wiring to my Pro-Com and made nests in it. The inside of it was disgusting. The Pro-Com was my primary furnace for my greenhouse... and it's totally trashed. We ordered a new unit. The mice got into the “hi-rise” in the sky which is my backup Modine furnace and... one of them expired on the circuit board. The fans were shut down. The plants froze then cooked then froze then cooked over the past few weeks. Sarracenia slush anyone??? This is my 60,000btu Modine circuit board… the brains to my back up furnace in my greenhouse. My husband used a toothbrush and cleaned off the board running it under water. We let it dry. It’s reinstalled and we’re getting an error message. We’ve ordered a new circuit board. It’s proprietary and cost $200 which sucks. Is there any where I can send the circuit board I have for repair to use as a back up? Modine won't repair them... they only sell you a new one.
Attached Thumbnails
Circuit board to greenhouse furnace trashed-circuit-board.jpg  
__________________
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
- Dr. Seuss
Equilibrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:42 PM   #2
Grub
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Dakota
dragonfly01 About your circuit board

I used to be married to an electronics wizard. I learned a lot about electronics from him - we had a digital electronics design & manufacturing micro-company for a while. I looked at the enlarged version of your circuit board & can tell you that analyzing it would be a nightmare, which is why the company only sells new ones. You would spend a lot more for technician time to find out what-all blew - to say nothing of replacing the parts - than to just buy another one & dispose of this one in the appropriate recycling bin. (cells phones, tvs...)
Pahinh Winh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 03:06 AM   #3
Official Plant Nerd
 
Equilibrium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

We ordered a new ProCom and a new circuit board. The circuit board came in already so the Modine works. There is only one error message on that circuit board. Are you sure there's no chance of repairing it? I believe you.. I just don't want to believe you.
__________________
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
- Dr. Seuss
Equilibrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 09:17 AM   #4
WG Guardian Spirit
 
JennyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The South
Default

Sorry to chime in on the negative side, but my dad the electrical engineer won't even tackle fried circuit boards if there are replacements available.
JennyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 02:32 AM   #5
Official Plant Nerd
 
Equilibrium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

My husband got the error message and ordered a new one. One of my brothers is an electrical engineer. I called him on the phone after Pahinh said no go because of the cost of a technician. I asked... no begged him if I could send it to him to fix. He laughed so loud I had to hold the phone away from my ear. What is it with all these PE's... have they no sense of adventure???
__________________
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
- Dr. Seuss
Equilibrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 01:22 PM   #6
Grub
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Dakota
dragonfly01 Sense of Adventure, yes..

But chasing will o' the wisps & ghosts are out of that realm. Finding boogers in an electrical circuit is like that... Try dowsing for the source of the problem. Dowsing works, and you don't need a degree to do it. But otherwise, just get the new board. hahahahahahahahahahahahaha ..
Pahinh Winh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 01:44 PM   #7
Rock Star
 
will-o-wisp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Piedmont area NJ USA
Default

Hey Pahinh Winh like your poetic explanation, just don't chase me away!

Oh too bad Equil!
will-o-wisp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:38 PM   #8
WG Staff
 
Staff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

__________________
The tendency of man's nature to good is like the tendency of water to flow downwards.
-Mencius
Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 04:01 PM   #9
WG Facilitator
 
biigblueyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cajun Country, Louisiana, USA
Default

Chasing Will-o-Wisp is not cool! Well, maybe the same way we chase fireflies, but not chasing away!
__________________
My yarden and I lean a little to the wild side.
biigblueyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 02:16 AM   #10
Official Plant Nerd
 
Equilibrium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

"just get the new board. hahahahahahahahahahahahaha" We already had it and he put it in. It was still like going to a dentist that tells you you need a root canal then wanting to find another dentist that will tell you what you want to hear.
__________________
"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
- Dr. Seuss
Equilibrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
board, circuit, furnace, greenhouse, trashed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2