Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Green Products and Service Providers > Green Blogs and Websites

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2010, 07:44 PM   #1
1st Place Winner Winner Butterfly/Moth Contest & Official Ant Man

Default Ants, Bees, Butterflies, and Nature

Ants Bees Butterflies and Nature is a blog I started a few years back. I post about the topics of the long winded title I chose.

I feel I bring a unique point of view certain topics. I started studying ants at a young age and have never stopped. Not only am I teaching myself ant taxonomy I'm making my own keys to species that are reasonably good. I hope to someday finish a book on the topic with a lengthy topic on preserving the environment and creating habitat. There are many parallels between ants colonies and plants, often the two go well together.

I'm also a beekeeper and have been working on an extensive pollinator garden. I'm very fortunate to have read Doug Tallamy's "Bringing Nature Home," early on before I planted something stupid. Removing a Golden Rain Tree as a sapling seemed so easier than had it been a full grown tree. I also removed the the Catmint before it escaped into the hedgerow and ally way between fences etc... As a member of the New Jersey Beekeeper's Association I can safely say there are a lot of stupid plants that beekeepers love. With the exception of Goldenrod, Honey Locust, and Anise Hyssop I can say none of the members were planting anything native. The newsletter sent to some 2000 members of New Jersey alone was proudly promoting Purple loosestrife. I've since voiced complaints and try to promote natives whenever I can. It usually boils down to impressing people with other aspects other than pollination such as Sunflowers for Goldfinches, and Milkweeds for Monarchs.
MrILoveTheAnts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 01:59 AM   #2
Official Plant Nerd