Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > General Gardening Boards > WG Library > Book Discussions

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 10:56 PM   #1
Co-Administrator
 
Cirsium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Midwest
earth1 Raising Elijah: Protecting Our Children in an Age of Environmental Crisis

Raising Elijah: Protecting Our Children in an Age of Environmental Crisis
Sandra Steingraber
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Da Capo Press; First Trade Paper Edition edition (April 23, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0306820757
  • ISBN-13: 978-0306820755
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Da Capo Press (March 29, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0738213993
  • ASIN: B006CDD326
Quote:
Nothing could be more important than the health of our children, and no one is better suited to examine the threats against it than Sandra Steingraber. Once called "a poet with a knife," she blends precise science with lyrical memoir. In Living Downstream she spoke as a biologist and cancer survivor; in Having Faith she spoke as an ecologist and expectant mother, viewing her own body as a habitat. Now she speaks as the scientist mother of two young children, enjoying and celebrating their lives while searching for ways to protect them--and all children--from the toxic, climate-threatened world they inhabit
Quote:
Library Journal, 6/3/11
“[A] compelling and graceful call to arms…Steingraber combines the best of humorous science writers like Mary Roach with the soaring beauty of writers like Terry Tempest Williams. Fans of Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation and Barbara Ehrenreich’s Nickel and Dimed should flock to Elijah.”
Quote:
The Ecologist (UK), 7/7/11
“Combining hard science with a sympathetic approach to the realities of family life; Raising Elijah is one of the most important books you’ll ever read…Meticulously researched…A genuine, all-encompassing environmental study…Raising Elijah is that rare beast that combines hard data and approachable intimacy. At heart, it is an inspirational personal journey, a tale of activism at family level. It is perhaps the most essential book a parent can read this year.”
Quote:
Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association, Fall 2011
“Steingraber speaks here as a warrior, a parent determined to protect her children—and all children—from the polluted and climate-challenged world they have inherited.”
Amazon.com: Raising Elijah: Protecting Our Children in an Age of Environmental Crisis (A Merloyd Lawrence Book) (9780306820755): Sandra Steingraber: Books

Raising Elijah: Protecting Our Children in an Age of Environmental Crisis (A Merloyd Lawrence Book): Sandra Steingraber: Amazon.com: Books
.
__________________
"We abuse land because we regard it as a commodity belonging to us.
When we see land as a community to which we belong, we may begin to use it with love and respect."
Aldo Leopold


Last edited by Cirsium; 04-23-2013 at 01:36 AM. Reason: Added info
Cirsium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
age, children, crisis, elijah, environmental, protecting, raising

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2