Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening  

Go Back   Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening > Wildlife Gardeners of North America Unite > Birds Including Raptors & Hummers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2010, 07:01 PM   #1
Fox

Default My Northern Mockingbird Family

I have been enjoying this pair (I believe they're the same) for about three years now and I've enjoyed their antics immensely. Sometimes their calls can be a bit aggravating, but then I just turn up the music and it's all good. This pair, having intimidated everything else in the neighborhood have taken to sitting outside the windows and harassing all the indoor cats that they can see. What a show!
I knew there was a nest somewhere near the top of my neighbor's huge Blue Spruce, but couldn't get a glimpse of it. Finally today, I heard the call of at least one baby and then saw some movement. Binocs showed me the baby venturing to the edge of his little world and checking out the rest of the planet, soon to be his to explore.
Is it any wonder that I watch very little TV?

Some of these pics aren't partricularly clear (especially of baby) but I include them anyway as the best example I have of that particular behavior or subject.
My Northern Mockingbird Family-mock1.jpgMy Northern Mockingbird Family-mock2.jpgMy Northern Mockingbird Family-mock3.jpgMy Northern Mockingbird Family-baby1.jpgMy Northern Mockingbird Family-baby2.jpg
Old 05-17-2010, 07:41 PM   #2
WG Hospitality & UAOKA recipient

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulucanagria View Post
I have been enjoying this pair (I believe they're the same) for about three years now and I've enjoyed their antics immensely. Sometimes their calls can be a bit aggravating, but then I just turn up the music and it's all good. This pair, having intimidated everything else in the neighborhood have taken to sitting outside the windows and harassing all the indoor cats that they can see. What a show!