Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening

Wildlife Gardeners - North American Wildlife Gardening (http://www.wildlifegardeners.org/forum/wildlife-gardeners.php)
-   Birds Including Raptors & Hummers (http://www.wildlifegardeners.org/forum/birds-including-raptors-hummers/)
-   -   My Northern Mockingbird Family (http://www.wildlifegardeners.org/forum/birds-including-raptors-hummers/6142-my-northern-mockingbird-family.html)

Bulucanagria 05-17-2010 07:01 PM

My Northern Mockingbird Family

5 Attachment(s)
I have been enjoying this pair (I believe they're the same) for about three years now and I've enjoyed their antics immensely. Sometimes their calls can be a bit aggravating, but then I just turn up the music and it's all good. This pair, having intimidated everything else in the neighborhood have taken to sitting outside the windows and harassing all the indoor cats that they can see. What a show!
I knew there was a nest somewhere near the top of my neighbor's huge Blue Spruce, but couldn't get a glimpse of it. Finally today, I heard the call of at least one baby and then saw some movement. Binocs showed me the baby venturing to the edge of his little world and checking out the rest of the planet, soon to be his to explore.
Is it any wonder that I watch very little TV?

Some of these pics aren't partricularly clear (especially of baby) but I include them anyway as the best example I have of that particular behavior or subject.
Attachment 16730Attachment 16731Attachment 16732Attachment 16733Attachment 16734

dapjwy 05-17-2010 07:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bulucanagria (Post 66760)